Press "Enter" to skip to content

In My Not So Humble Opinion #MondayMusings

I find it a little funny when people begin a sentence with “In my humble opinion”.  Or IMHO in chat language. Today I want to share something in my not so humble opinion about opinionated folk!

in my not so humble opinion

In My Not So Humble Opinion

I was talking with a friend  about some opinionated people we know. Okay, I admit I’m opinionated too – what would we be without our opinions, after all? However, this conversation was about people who are very forceful with their opinions and try to shove them down your throat.

I realize that most people who do that are rather insecure. If you don’t agree with their opinion, they feel that you don’t value them as people. They suggest you do something in a particular way and when you don’t, then they feel insulted.

Then on the other hand there are people who ask you for your opinion. Then go and do precisely what they want. That’s perfectly alright with me. But then they start to avoid you, just in case you ask them about their situation. Perhaps, they think you’ll feel bad that they’re not following your suggestions! That’s really funny, because I usually think ‘the brain with the problem is the one with the solution’. 

The more you know who you are and what you want, the less you let things upset you.  

From the movie Lost in Translation (2003)

What’s your opinion?

separator
Would you like to take part in #MondayMusings?

Here’s how it works:

  • Write a post sharing your thoughts with us – happy, sad, philosophical, ‘silly’ even. Make it as personal as possible.
  • Use the hashtag #MondayMusings.
  • Add your link to the linky below
  • Use our #MondayMusings badge to encourage other bloggers join in too.
  • Visit and comment on the posts of other bloggers linked here.
  • Share the love.
#MondayMusings
 

12 Comments

  1. Parul Thakur Parul Thakur August 9, 2018

    I could not agree more. Having an opinion is one thing and then being able to handle the other is another. Not many get that difference.

  2. Obsessivemom Obsessivemom August 8, 2018

    I do have opinions of course like everyone but I don’t open up about them easily nor to everyone – only with people who matter. Then it’s easy to be okay with them not agreeing because they’re friends or family and I understand.

  3. Anagha Yatin Anagha Yatin August 7, 2018

    My opinion…I wonder whether I form any opinion about anything! Coz even if I form one, I tend to forget it easily. So most of the times, I dont have opinion about anything.
    I strongly agree with the quote. Its better to seek answers within. One can seek help but any help that stems from outside is always of guiding nature. Actual decision rests in the brain that faces the problem.

  4. BellyBytes BellyBytes August 7, 2018

    In my humble opinion there is no such thing as humble opinion. Opinionated people give an opinion on any thing and frankly they would desist only if they were dispensing it for some value. Similarly, I feel that people who ask for an opinion really don’t want to listen to it….. they just need a listening ear.

  5. BellyBytes BellyBytes August 7, 2018

    I completely agree with you Corinne . Most people have an opinion which they express whether or not you are interested and most people who seek your opinion don’t really want another view point . All they need is a listening ear . I suppose you are better off not offering your humble opinion but charging an arm and a leg for it so that it will be better valued !

  6. Kalpana Kalpana August 6, 2018

    I like what you said – that the brain with the problem is the one with the solution. I think people love to give advice and opinions and one doesn’t necessarily have to follow what anyone suggests. It’s quite a tricky situation – because some advice is annoying and useless and yet one talks over ones problems with people.

  7. Vishal Bheeroo Vishal Bheeroo August 6, 2018

    I have an issue with the first ones, pushing their opinion down the throat and it’s a disorder for they take things personally, imagining their perspective is how the world functions. It leaves me fuming for a long time, affecting my mental well being. I am trying to be discreet in voicing out since our sane views cannot change them. An interesting topic for discussion.

  8. Michele Morin Michele Morin August 6, 2018

    Great point. We do let ourselves get hooked into conflict when we respond to someone whose opinionated-ness brings out our own not-so-humble opinions.
    We are such funny creatures.

  9. Shalzmojo Shalzmojo August 6, 2018

    Agree with the movie quote and I find myself indulging in that more and more these days.

    As for opinions, each t their own I guess. The trick lies in being confident in it. While given no as well as receiving it.

  10. Pri Pri August 6, 2018

    You nailed it! A common problem faced by all. I read this somewhere, “Opinions are like a*seholes. Everybody’s got one.”
    Having said that, I think asking for advice and then ignoring the person who rendered it is so not done! Either don’t ask, or really believe that the other person is doing the best he/she can to help you.

    Perspective tends to broaden when shared…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© Everyday Gyaan 2019
Tweet
Pin
Share
Share
WhatsApp
%d bloggers like this: